Sainsbury's Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Sainsbury's
Shop Mixers & blenders
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Kenwood Kenwood HM400 Hand Mixer with Bowl

Efficient and designed for simplicity, the Kenwood HM400 Hand Mixer with Bowl is a great choice for everyday use. It features an automatic rotating bowl, twin beaters, twin kneaders and a simple pop-up switch. Powered by 180W, there are five operational speeds to choose from that will make light work of any food consistency. Cable length is one metre.
Average Customer Rating:
3.836 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(213 Reviews) 213
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating snapshot (213 reviews)
5 stars
80
4 stars
79
3 stars
16
2 stars
15
1 star
23
Customer Reviews for Kenwood HM400 Hand Mixer with Bowl
Review 121 for Kenwood HM400 Hand Mixer with Bowl
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by valentino
Fandabidozy product
Date:06 February 2013
The Kenwood mixer is a great product, I purchased it because it has the stand and mixing bow also dough hooks, which, really help to mix dough. I have had a hand held Kenwood mixer for 30 years so upgraded to this one hoping it will last just as long. I will be 102 then so I dont expect to be too worried.
Review 122 for Kenwood HM400 Hand Mixer with Bowl
Customer rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by kendo
excellent product
Date:06 February 2013
I found this product to be great value for money.
when I used it it exceeded my expectations. It is simple to operate and quite simply does the job I bought it for.
I like it!!
Review 123 for Kenwood HM400 Hand Mixer with Bowl
Customer rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by kebab
poor
Date:24 January 2013
this machine broke the first time i used it
Review 124 for Kenwood HM400 Hand Mixer with Bowl
Customer rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by Retiree
Good little mixer.
Date:24 January 2013
Bought for use as a simple every day hand mixer and it does exactly what it says. I feel it is not very powerful, it does struggle with a heavy mix, but if you only want it for simple cake making, egg whites, cream, it is fine. Light and easy to use, the bowl and stand make it so simple to use.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 125 for Kenwood HM400 Hand Mixer with Bowl
Customer rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by mazz
Date:24 January 2013
excellent value for money,not for bulk use but easy to use for everyday things
Review 126 for Kenwood HM400 Hand Mixer with Bowl
Customer rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by blondie
good product
Date:24 January 2013
It is good value for money. My kids find it easy to use so now they love baking and want to do it all the time. Good product.
Review 127 for Kenwood HM400 Hand Mixer with Bowl
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by greyhound lady 3
Fantastic best item ive ever bought
Date:24 January 2013
I have the very Old Kenwood chef but in comparison it doesn'tmatch up to the efficiency of the modern food mixer, used it and it is the best item I made all my Xmas cakes and more in superfast time. 100%
Review 128 for Kenwood HM400 Hand Mixer with Bowl
Customer rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by Penny
Kenwood mixer
Date:23 January 2013
I wouldn't have paid the full price. This works well as a hand mixer.
Review 129 for Kenwood HM400 Hand Mixer with Bowl
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by dodger
Great
Date:23 January 2013
The mixer is brilliant and my wife uses it most days.
Bought to replace same item, which we had used for over 10 years. Unfortunately 1'st replacement was faulty but changed straight away with no quible on return to store and no problem with 2'nd one.
Review 130 for Kenwood HM400 Hand Mixer with Bowl
Customer rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by walks 1
junk
Date:23 January 2013
it does not work at all 1 paddle went then both my daughter is gutted ,,, lost reciept cant return 3 days it lasted 0 stars its junk
Review 131 for Kenwood HM400 Hand Mixer with Bowl
Customer rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by Amateur cake baker :)
Value for money
Date:23 January 2013
This is a great basic mixer and will suit you if you only bake now and again. It's easy to use and assemble. It shouldn't be confused with mixers that cost hundreds of pounds but it does offer value for money.
Review 132 for Kenwood HM400 Hand Mixer with Bowl
Customer rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by Disappointed
Shocking
Date:23 January 2013
Bought this as it was on offer and a decent make, how could I go wrong?
One of the mixer prongs broke on first use, this left the dough I was trying to mix going all the way up the second one and into the mixer itself, totally useless. Very cheap item and the bowl doesn't turn round itself, it relies on the mixture to do that. Definitely wouldn't buy again. Would've taken it back to the store for a refund if I hadn't thrown the receipt out.
Review 133 for Kenwood HM400 Hand Mixer with Bowl
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by likeitalot
Great product
Date:23 January 2013
I really like this product and even better at half price! It is so easy to use, not so many attachments to make it fiddly. The white finish looks good and is easy to clean. I use it for making cakes and it's so much easier than doing it all by hand! Brilliant product, great price, tasty results!!!
Review 134 for Kenwood HM400 Hand Mixer with Bowl
Customer rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by laurag
Cheap mixer
Date:23 January 2013
Good for the price. It's much better than just having a hand mixer, but the bowl doesn't always turn well & the mix gets stuck around the edges of the bowl. You get what you pay for.
Review 135 for Kenwood HM400 Hand Mixer with Bowl
Customer rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by Mungo
Good for its purpose
Date:21 January 2013
I already have an old Kenwood food mixer. Very solid and heavy so felt I needed a hand mixer for those little jobs not needing the 'big one'. When I saw the HM400 I thought it suited the job admirably. I did not expect it to be as robust as my old top of the range, but it does what I expected, with the added advantage of having its own bowl and stand. All in all, it does what I wanted - it is no substitute for a more powerful option for heavy work. I am wary of using the HM400 for kneading as it doesn't seem man enough for the job.
Review 136 for Kenwood HM400 Hand Mixer with Bowl
Customer rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by K1tyn
Very average
Date:20 January 2013
Didn't have high expectations given the low price. The mixer is plasticy and not the most stable. But it does the job especially for infrequent baking.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 137 for Kenwood HM400 Hand Mixer with Bowl
Customer rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by Steve C
Food Mixer
Date:17 January 2013
I bought this model because it is a Kenwood. Even though it was half price I could have bought a cheaper one but I wanted something that would last. I consider the build quality to be poor and it seems to lack power. It is the sort of product I wish I hadn't bought and find myself hoping it breaks so I can throw it away and get a new one.
Review 138 for Kenwood HM400 Hand Mixer with Bowl
Customer rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by violet
Good value
Date:16 January 2013
I bought this to replace a Kenwood mixer which I've had for more years than I care to remember, I guess this is the 'same' model but I can't see it lasting as long, doesn't seem as robust. But I think that's true of all household appliances these days, they're not built to last any more, presumably so that we'll buy new ones more often! I've only used it a couple of times and it seems OK, although I did find that I had to 'help' the bowl to rotate as it seemed reluctant to do it unaided! I tend to use my food processor for most mixing, the mixer isn't used that often, so I'm quite happy with it although if I used it more I'd probably want something a bit more solid. But for the price, it's fine.
Review 139 for Kenwood HM400 Hand Mixer with Bowl
Customer rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by Happy Eater
Not bad
Date:16 January 2013
The whole unit is a bit plasticky and lightweight. I have only used it a couple of times but it does seem to work. The hand mixer can be detached and held separately but it is very heavy and you would struggle to hold it for any length of time. However, I am not complaining as it was half price. Would not have paid full price for it though.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 140 for Kenwood HM400 Hand Mixer with Bowl
Customer rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by unhappy customer
Poor product
Date:15 January 2013
This mixer was easy to set up and use BUT one of the beaters stopped working the first time I used it, so I returned it to the store for a refund. I wanted to use it as a hand mixer which was just as well as the base was flimsy. Very poor on reliability. I was disappointed with the product as I thought with the Kenwood name it would be a good mixer for me.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 11 next>>