Sainsbury's Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Sainsbury's
Shop All Vacuum cleaners
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Sainsbury's.

Hoover Vax U89-P8-P Power Pet 8 Upright Vacuum Cleaner

Perfect for pet lovers, this powerful, large capacity vacuum cleaner has a TurboTool for picking up stubborn animal hairs and for cleaning stairs, upholstery and car interiors. It provides powerful cleaning on both carpets and hard floors and its extra long power cord means you can clean more rooms without stopping. As it uses cyclonic filtration, it's very easy to clean and maintain too as there's no messy central filter or bag. Its anti-bacterial HEPA filter helps reduce bacteria, allergens and pet-rela
Average Customer Rating:
4.082 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
24
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews for Vax U89-P8-P Power Pet 8 Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Review 1 for Vax U89-P8-P Power Pet 8 Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by kimshan
VAX Power Pet 8 Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Date:13 December 2011
With the old saying ’all I want for Xmas’ I am glad I picked this model before Xmas just to clear any unwanted mess up. I have had Vax products before but this was a long time ago and to be honest it is now probably obsolete , hence a new model .
This product did not disappoint. Easy to assemble, easy to use and easy to store. It is lightweight, manoeuvres easily and with the 10mtr cable ( life saver ) and just over a 3mtr hose it covers the entire downstairs easily.
The motor is very powerful ( the only downside is the noise) but the suction from the vacuum is fantastic. It sounds like a jet engine taking off. I can live with that for the job it does.
Cleaning the stairs was so easy and it must be the first time in almost a year I have been left with ‘no pet hair’ on the carpet. This model is also ideal for hard floors and long pile carpets . It has an easily adjustable switch which controls the height of the brushes.
The cylinder is very accessible and cleaning was very easy and could be carried out one handed.
The instructions were clear and concise and the colour schemes on offer were great.
Would I recommend it to a friend – Yes I would and that not something I do every day. One of the benefiting factors in choosing this product was the fact it comes with a two year guarantee. If this model lives up to my old one I do not think I will need it.
47 of 47 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Vax U89-P8-P Power Pet 8 Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by Elena
Exactly what it should be
Date:24 July 2014
This isn't a terribly expensive vacuum cleaner, so I didn't expect the absolute greatest performance - but it does everything I need it to do. It has powerful suction for my carpets, and the right attachments for furniture and other hard-to-reach places.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vax U89-P8-P Power Pet 8 Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by Dave
Great value
Date:24 July 2014
Bought this mainly based on a balance of price and power. We have several difference flooring types so wanted a vacuum that could cover all bases, without breaking the bank.
Pros:
-Good value
-Easy to use
-Easy to assemble (you will need a screwdriver)
Cons:
-Hose fitting doesn't seem completely airtight, but this doesn't seem to have affected suction, so may just be an aesthetic rather than functional thing
-Very loud
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vax U89-P8-P Power Pet 8 Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by Rosy
Good machine
Date:29 May 2014
Gives great results on all floor surfaces. Comes with a long cable so saves having to switch sockets. I find it heavier and noisier than my last vacuum but the results are much better. The only drawback for me is the hose is not long enough to clean the stairs.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vax U89-P8-P Power Pet 8 Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by TGreg
vax
Date:14 May 2014
Great hoover! picked up so much dirt my old hoover totally missed. Its brought a bit of life back to my poor old carpet as the brushes are stiff and brush the fibres brilliantly. Great on hard floors too as my kitchen is tiiled and it picks up everything in there too. Cant fault it. Easy to use and everything within easy reach without havin to bend down and break your back to get it.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vax U89-P8-P Power Pet 8 Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by skenty
Poor product but great service from Sainsburys
Date:16 April 2014
This must be the noisiest vacuum cleaner in the world. On top of that ,none of the attachments worked. Telephoned Vax, who agreed that the instructions were poor and that the machine was faulty. Duly returned the machine to Sainsburys and got an instant refund. Will not buy Vax again.
Review 7 for Vax U89-P8-P Power Pet 8 Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Written by jacksmom
very heavy but vacuumed very well.
Date:20 March 2014
WHEN I CAME TO USE THIS VACUUM I DISCOVERED THAT IT ONLY HAD A SHORT POLE TO USE ON THE EXTRA TOOLS MAKING THE POLE SECTION VERY SHORT TO USE. AS I CANNOT BEND LIKE REQUIRED I CALLED VAX AND SAINSBURY'S AND WAS TOLD TO ETO SAINSBURY'S AS NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE.I DID SO AND THEY HAD IT COLLECTED AND I HAVE NOW HAD A FULL REFUND FROM SAINSBURY'S/.
THIS IS ABSOLUTELY SUPER AS I HAVE DOGS AND NEED TO GET E NEW MACHINE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.
MANY THANKS SAINSBURY'S.
Review 8 for Vax U89-P8-P Power Pet 8 Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by berty
Months use and falling apart
Date:18 March 2014
I bought this hoover thinking it was a great buy being vax and that it would be ideal for my flat as i have a 5 year old child and a mucky husband who likes to leave a dirt trail when he comes in from work.
This hoover has been used 3 times a week minimum for 9 months and I am now having to return the product
Within the first use i did expect a lot of dirt to be pick from the floor due to us moving in and having new carpets and decorating, which was great, but the filter pad keeps and has continued to be blocked and has to be cleaned at least twice in one hoover due to the compacted dust on the pad and loss of suction.
The seal around the bottom of the dirt drum has gone missing as you can flip open the bottom of the cylinder for easy disposal of dirt, so suction is being lost now so i have to put duct tape around the barrel to keep the suction.
The foot pedal has now decided it does not want to stay on so i am taking my hoover back.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vax U89-P8-P Power Pet 8 Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by flower
vax u89-p8-p power pet 8 upright vacuum cleaner
Date:05 March 2014
brillient hoover, great suction, only complaint is keep trapping finger with the combined brush and crevice tool, it is certainly the best hoover i have ever had. it has a long cable, the rotating accessory brush is excelent for cleaning stairs
Review 10 for Vax U89-P8-P Power Pet 8 Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by Lola
Excellent Hoover
Date:08 February 2014
Really easy to use, lots of different tools to use and even though it's a bit louder than other hoovers it really picks up alot of dirt.
Review 11 for Vax U89-P8-P Power Pet 8 Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by Pet lover
Product not well thought out
Date:27 January 2014
The one good thing about this vacuum is the suction. It is very noisy and when using the hose it continually falls over. The hose and attachment pipe are not long enough. Hose not long enough to hoover standard staircase. The switch for brush height adjustment is very stiff to turn. For a Vax product I am very disappointed.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vax U89-P8-P Power Pet 8 Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by Rich
Vax U89-P8-P Power Pet 8 Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Date:12 January 2014
What a hoover - for a great price you get a serious amount of suction - it physically lifts the carpet and sucks all the dirt right off. However for a powerful motor the trade off is a real noise - jet aircraft style. But that's a small price to pay, and this is worth every penny. Highly recommended.
Review 13 for Vax U89-P8-P Power Pet 8 Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by Brains
Brilliant product
Date:13 November 2013
We bought this because it said on the box it dealt with pet hair; and true to its word, the pet hair was gobbled up in an instant, and the carpet is like new again. Wow, we thought! It was very simple to put together; is lightweight which makes it easy on the stairs, and the extra long cord is a bonus. Great price and excellent value.
Review 14 for Vax U89-P8-P Power Pet 8 Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by Hecate
Good product
Date:31 October 2013
Needed a new vacuum cleaner and looked for one with good performance levels especially for dog hairs. The suction on this is excellent and I was shocked at the amount it lifted from my 'clean' carpet .. However it is let down by there being no handle to lift what is quite a heavy vacuum cleaner, especially for taking up and down stairs.. Also wish there had been two interlocking tubes for extra stretch, instead there are two tubes,one of which has the crevice tool moulded on, which means the other tools can only go on the one tube..
Review 15 for Vax U89-P8-P Power Pet 8 Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by Noodles.
Fab product!
Date:30 October 2013
This was a quick buy as our old hoover had died and we needed a replacement quickly.
It was very easy to assemble and although heavier than our last appliance, it it very easy to move around. The suction is great and it picked up fluff from my carpet that we thought was clean!
Great for homes with pets, the hose and tools are great for fiddley and hard to reach areas. The cable is long enough for me to clean most of my rooms and it is easy to remove the dirt. Great product and great value for money. Highly recommended, especially with a 2 year warranty which was simple to activate online.
Review 16 for Vax U89-P8-P Power Pet 8 Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by frosty
Fantastic Hoover
Date:03 October 2013
I bought this after i gave up on my Bissel hoover i had only 2 years. This VAX was on offer and the last one left in the shop
I cannot fault it it does what it says on the box i'm happy and i have a nice clean house it even picks up cat hair. i must say though no handle on the back for carrying it upstairs and it is Quite heavy but i can live with this as long as it does the job.
It has a very long cable and the pipes are easy to grip and hold. The Dust is very easy to empty out no problem
Thanks VAX
Review 17 for Vax U89-P8-P Power Pet 8 Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by A Happy Customer
Good for the money
Date:19 September 2013
The cleaner dose a good job of cleaning but to switch it on is a little fiddly and the catch to hold and release the bass lacks quality. Over all a good buy
Review 18 for Vax U89-P8-P Power Pet 8 Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by Scooby
Good Macine
Date:08 September 2013
I recently owned a Dyson cylinder cleaner which had run out of life. I purchased the Vax cylinder which is a good machine but suffers from a lack of suction so was a bit dubious about this machine, but I am pleased I bought it. It is super powerful which gives it great suction performance. The 10m power cable is brilliant. The dust collector is easy to empty and the machine is light. for the people that wrote about the cable coming out too low of the machine, there is a clip on the back of the handle to clip the cable in while using it.
To me there are only two issues, they are minor. one is the noise and the other the hose is a tad short and not as flexible (stretchy) as it could be, but saying that you cant have everything in a machine, well not at this price. Great value for money.
Would recommend it.
Review 19 for Vax U89-P8-P Power Pet 8 Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by micky
Great quality product
Date:05 September 2013
A great well built hoover, with good suction.
Review 20 for Vax U89-P8-P Power Pet 8 Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by meame
does the job but...
Date:27 June 2013
it does pick up the dirt very well, but compared to a dyson its very noisy, too plasticy put togetter...doesn't feel as sturdy as a dyson...but is was 1/3 prise of a dyson. so if you want to save money, can be gental with it and have no little children to scare with the noise its quite good:)
1 2 3 4 next>>