Sainsbury's Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Sainsbury's
Shop All Vacuum cleaners
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Vax Vax W90-RU-B Rapide Ultra Carpet Washer

The Vax Rapide range of upright carpet washers offer fantastic deep carpet cleaning performance and unbeatable value for money. They've been designed to be as easy to use as a regular dry vacuum cleaner and provide an affordable way to wash carpets and suck up spills. The Rapide Ultra Carpet Washer boasts power jets to loosen dirt and Dual V technology to dry carpets quicker. Easy to manoeuvre, the vacuum has a multi-row brushbar that gently loosens and lifts the embedded dirt from carpet pile - that dry
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Vax W90-RU-B Rapide Ultra Carpet Washer
Review 1 for Vax W90-RU-B Rapide Ultra Carpet Washer
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by Snaphappy
All this is new to me
Date:05 February 2014
Recently lost my darling wife and sad to say things have got neglected. I desperately required a carpet cleaner and I purchased it at a great price. Easy to assemble and instructions very clear. Look forward to using it for a long time to come
Review 2 for Vax W90-RU-B Rapide Ultra Carpet Washer
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by bibi
Excellent performance
Date:22 January 2014
Our house has pets and children and the hallway and living room carpets get very heavy wear. i was delighted with the cleaning performance. The carpets came up like new with the pile lifted and cleaned. I used the Vax shampoo especially for pets and was impressed by how fresh the carpets smelled with not a whiff of Labrador remaining. I want a cleaner that I can use frequently and is ready to go at short notice and this fills the bill. Also worked effectively on the stairs. Have not worked out how to use the upholstery attachment yet but so far so good.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Vax W90-RU-B Rapide Ultra Carpet Washer
Customer rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by Manaboutthehouse
Good product
Date:14 January 2014
We purchased this product mainly because we have water coming in under our door and the carpet was becoming sodden. Used it to dry the carpet out, the suction on it is brilliant, dried and cleaned the area which had be so wet very quickly. Then had to use it to clean the rest of the carpet and the stairs - it's done a really good job. Will now use it on the rest of the carpets.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vax W90-RU-B Rapide Ultra Carpet Washer
Customer rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by Bella Lassagne
Spring clean done
Date:10 January 2014
I could not be happier with the results of my carpet spring clean, especially as I bought the Vax on sale. My only advice to users would be not to fill the water container, because it makes the cleaner heavy; work with a couple of litres at a time.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vax W90-RU-B Rapide Ultra Carpet Washer
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by kebabs
Great buy.
Date:09 January 2014
Only used once so far but I am very pleased with the result. Used on hall, stairs & landing, a high traffic area & the results were excellent. Looking forward to using in the rest of the house now. Very good value for money.
Review 6 for Vax W90-RU-B Rapide Ultra Carpet Washer
Customer rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by CountyRef
Excellent product
Date:08 January 2014
This machine brought my carpet to almost brand new look, I found it very easy to use but would be heavy going for a slightly built person. The one thing missing is a measuring jug for the solution mixing just to make it easier. Did a very good job on my creamy carpet and was amazed at the coulour of the dirty water that it sucked back up.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vax W90-RU-B Rapide Ultra Carpet Washer
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by House hubby
Vax cleaner
Date:08 January 2014
Great deal for a product which is proving to work extreemly well. Easy to use and results are great with carpets dry in no time at all. Handy attachment for cleaning upholstery which works really well.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vax W90-RU-B Rapide Ultra Carpet Washer
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by Duff30
Fantastic carpet cleaner
Date:08 January 2014
Straight out of the box this was very easy to set-up and get going with. It is a big unit, and a bit heavy to manouvre but that's to be expected. Saw great results on our light blue carpet after the first use, and with us having 3 kids, a dog and 2 cats the capret gets a lot of dirt on it, so very pleased with the results. Handy tip, is try not to clean your capert at night and then leave, as it will still feel a little damp in the morning, this is due to how cold it gets during the night. Try and go over your carpet during the day and head off out for a few hours, it will be dry when you get back. Great product, highly recommended.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vax W90-RU-B Rapide Ultra Carpet Washer
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by CarbonCop
My carpet is so clean
Date:13 November 2013
It's easy to use and what a difference it makes. We have a light coloured carpet, an infant and 2 cats which mean lots of stains around. First use of this Vax and almost as good as new. I shall look forward to carpet cleaning weekends now!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Vax W90-RU-B Rapide Ultra Carpet Washer
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by Bat21
Best by Far.
Date:22 October 2013
Excellent Machine easy in use and cleaning machine afterwards.
Have rented carpet cleaners in the past and if this Vax is used as directed ,spray on forward push, release on back pull, Carpets were dry in two hours! Brilliant!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vax W90-RU-B Rapide Ultra Carpet Washer
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by davejollygiant
very good
Date:16 October 2013
very good value for money
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vax W90-RU-B Rapide Ultra Carpet Washer
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by corpy
Vax W90-RU-B
Date:15 July 2013
This is the first time using a Vax carpet cleaner it's a good all round cleaner, easy to use. Would recommend this model.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vax W90-RU-B Rapide Ultra Carpet Washer
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by Chez
Great Carpet Cleaner
Date:06 July 2013
I bought this cleaner yesterday 5th July from Sainsburys and what a fantastic cleaner it is, I have done my whole house today and the carpets have come up really brilliant.
I have a child and 6 cats and it done such a good job and I must say it was the easiest carpet cleaner I have used it was self explanatory I didn't even need to use the book it was that easy to use. It makes you want to use it and use it more if it is easy to use it is like a Dyson with a different colour when you need to remove that part. Fantastic item.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vax W90-RU-B Rapide Ultra Carpet Washer
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by Jojo
Great
Date:22 March 2013
I have just bought the product and I am delighted. The only thing that is important is to vacuum the carpet before cleaning it, but the carpet looks like new. In one case the carpet was nearly 15 years old but now looks .
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Vax W90-RU-B Rapide Ultra Carpet Washer
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by Robster64
Great Product, Even Better Performance
Date:12 January 2013
This is the best performing carpet cleaner we have used. The hose attachment is really useful for use on the stairs and for spot cleaning. It also has a pre-spray which I used and I think that helped with the cleaning. The main carpet cleaner has a 'trigger' action on the handle to release the cleaning fluid through the front of the machine on the underside. Behind the spay nozzle is a stiff rotating brush and then the 'suction' section. I good tip I found was to hold the trigger while slowly pushing the machine forwards, thus spraying the carpet, the brush beats it, releasing the dirt, but then release the trigger while slowly pulling backwards, the brush beats it again then the suction collects the cleaning fluid and the dirt with it.
The front is clear and you see the dirt lifting. My only concern is this section appears to be acrylic which in my experience is fragile, and with it being at the front of the machine a band into a piece of furniture may crack it - so beware and take it slowly.
Emptying the dirty water is really easy, this part is a great design. Filling upper tank with clean water is equally as easy. The machine without water is rather heavy, so fill the machine after climbing the stairs when cleaning your bedroom carpets.
I fully recommend this Vax Cleaner. I hope this review helps you make your mind up. Happy cleaning! ;~)
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Vax W90-RU-B Rapide Ultra Carpet Washer
Customer rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by lobby
very easy
Date:09 January 2013
fetched the carpet up really nice cannot fault this product
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Vax W90-RU-B Rapide Ultra Carpet Washer
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by munchkin
value for money
Date:20 October 2012
Family of 3 in a bungalow with cream carpets throughout. Hoover is substantial and powerful, easy to use. The hoover itself is a little heavy, yet due to the need of a cleaner as well as a hoover this does everything it is supposed to. Very happy with quality and would highly recommend. Price is value too.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vax W90-RU-B Rapide Ultra Carpet Washer
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by Clare
Great product
Date:18 October 2012
We are very pleased with our purchase. So far we have only used it once to clean our beige living room carpet which was beginning to look grubby from the dog, cats and children and the carpet has come up looking like new. The instructions and machine is very easy to use and I would definately recommend this product.
Review 19 for Vax W90-RU-B Rapide Ultra Carpet Washer
Customer rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by Annie
Bib disappointment
Date:29 June 2012
At second use, the fluid was only dispensed intermittently from the main machime. Kept having to bend down and feel the carpet to see if it was working or not. Fluid was dispensed perfectly with the wand, so reckon switch on the handle was at fault. Very disappointed, therefore with product and highly unlikely to buy another of this model
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vax W90-RU-B Rapide Ultra Carpet Washer
Customer rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by Robbie
Good product
Date:27 June 2012
The cleaner did what I expected - it cleaned carpets. Including one corner that seemed to have some mildew. This is the main point as to why I purchassed a carpet cleaner.
In did not come with a manual which was surprising. And it is quite heavy and cleaning the "waste water" tank is not that easy.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>