Sainsbury's Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Sainsbury's
Shop All Vacuum cleaners
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Vax Vax U91-MA-B Air Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner

Designed in Britain, the VaxAir is the lightest, full size multi-cyclonic upright vacuum cleaner in the world. It has the cleaning power and capacity of a conventional upright but weighs a third less. This makes it easy to carry from room to room and use with the minimum of effort. Its slim, compact design means it takes up less storage space too.
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews for Vax U91-MA-B Air Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Review 1 for Vax U91-MA-B Air Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by Angie
The best vaccum!
Date:07 August 2014
If you are thinking of getting this vacuum, stop thinking and do it! It's lightweight and compact but does the job far better than the Hoover I replaced. I've got two dogs and it makes short work of picking up their hair. I think it's the best cleaner I've owned. Because there's nothing to adjust when you change floor levels, you can go from carpet to rug to tile to laminate without any messing about. You can see when it needs emptying and that's really easy too. 10/10 from me.
Review 2 for Vax U91-MA-B Air Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by Lindy Lou
Brilliant cleaner
Date:10 July 2014
This is my second Vax of a similar model (the other one is the pet version). We were so pleased with the performance of the first we bought this for downstairs to replace a dying heavy Dyson. Its fabulously light to move about and picks up bits a treat. Downsides as previously mentioned: the cable is too short but I have attached an extension lead and that's solved that issue. Bit fiddly using the hose for the stairs as it comes from the base and involves bending right down......but you get used to it!
Love these machines. Good investment. 6 year guarantee. Would recommend.
Review 3 for Vax U91-MA-B Air Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by Want2goThere
Great little cleaner
Date:11 June 2014
A great little cleaner does what it's meant to very efficiently, the big advantage is the weight very light so easy to use and carry upstairs.
Only downside is the flexible hose could be longer also the mains lead is a little bit short, other that that no problems.
Review 4 for Vax U91-MA-B Air Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by Itsarz
A great Vac by Vax
Date:28 November 2013
This is our second Vax. We think the first is so good we have got this as a "spare".
Light weight, great performance, easy to use and reliable. What more can you ask for?
And don't forget the SIX YEAR guarantee!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vax U91-MA-B Air Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by Retiree
ood Product
Date:27 November 2013
Getting older means it's not easy lifting cleaners up stairs, so this Vax is ideal as it is so light. Not only for lifting but also for pushing round the floor. The only drawback is the hose is too short to make for easy stair cleaning. Perhaps I will buy an extension hose to ease this problem.
All in all I am pleased with this machine.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vax U91-MA-B Air Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by big bri
More vex than vax
Date:02 October 2013
this product is not for those with dogs or kids as there is little suction power compared to the hoover or dyson. Yes its light weight and easy to use but it doesnt do what it says on the box not a good buy
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vax U91-MA-B Air Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by Mick
Excellent Hover
Date:02 October 2013
So easy to assemble, good suction and so light to move. Great price !
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Vax U91-MA-B Air Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Written by SCME4
Not good
Date:29 May 2013
We have pets and this hoover did not perform very well with pet hair. Very light weight and easy to manoeuvre but the suction is not great compared to leading brands, we thought we would give this ago following our dyson which finally gave up, but will definitely go back to the dyson.
One very bad point is the hose, it needs to be disconnected at the base of the hoover and if you want to reach higher places you need to lift the whole unit as the hose isn't long enough. On our first use of the hoover the hose actually snapped, so returned for our money back.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vax U91-MA-B Air Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by copal
Great product
Date:27 May 2013
Great product, easy to use and so light. only gripe is the hose is too short making cleaning stairs a little awkward. Customer service excellent. Well done VAX.
Review 10 for Vax U91-MA-B Air Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by sunshine
handles well
Date:17 May 2013
very easy to use, I have an Oreck and its far better to handle. Lightweight to carry about.. although it carries a couple of tools onboard the machine it could have done with another to do stairs this has to be bought separate. But overall very good indeed, my husband rates it excellent. Good value for money.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vax U91-MA-B Air Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Written by Ambrose
Good Value
Date:16 May 2013
Bought instead of the Dyson equivalent because it was less than half the price and so pleased I did. Easy to use and lightweight and a snap to empty - gets into corners and has good suction. Flexi pipe is a little bit awkward. Overall good value for money and great performance in a compact size.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Vax U91-MA-B Air Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by shelly
best for me!!!
Date:15 May 2013
I have tried many hoovers and this has got to be the best ever that I've tried. After I broke my neck I couldn't use the old VAX that we had as it wasn't an upright and therefore put too much strain on my neck. After trying out other makes of hoovers my partner bought the Vax air bagless. It is the lightest and best hoover I have ever used and now there is no stopping me (to the delight of my partner) :)
Thank you VAX!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Vax U91-MA-B Air Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by doris
Date:05 May 2013
bought in a rush instead of a dyson. Overall good, easy to use, lightweight and quite happy with purchase. On a negative note, flexi pipe could do with being a little longer and the attachments I don't find fit and stay easily in their allotted place. Good value for money, does what it needs to do
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Vax U91-MA-B Air Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by dimpaler
not a Dyson but equally good
Date:03 May 2013
Bought this for my mother who actually wanted a small Dyson but the one we wanted was not in stock so we took this Vax and it surprised us more than you would ever think, so it isn't a Dyson but it's very nearly as good
Review 15 for Vax U91-MA-B Air Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by satisfied customer
great product for the price
Date:02 May 2013
very easy to assemble, lightweight and easy to use.
cord could have been a little longer but isn't really a
problem for me. up to now - totally satisfied.
Review 16 for Vax U91-MA-B Air Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by fussymum
A great investment!
Date:02 May 2013
Love this hoover! Nice and light; easy to use and great suction. My carpets look great!!1
Review 17 for Vax U91-MA-B Air Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by sirloin
Excellent light vacuum cleaner
Date:15 March 2013
I bought this for my wife, who has trouble with her hands and feet.
Pros : The lightest cleaner yet found. Very powerful suction and efficient brushing. really does get right upto the skirting board and into many small spaces my previous cleaner couldn't reach,especially under sideboards, etc. Still noisy, but not as much as my 'old' one (but then if you want suction it gets traded against noise).Our carpets had been cleaned less than 48 hrs. previously and we were surprised at amount 'lifted' up.
It works very well over various carpet thickness and on our tiled kitchen floor was excellent, better than sweeping !
Cons : The handle, although easy to adjust feels a little loose. Cable is a little shorter than 'old' cleaner; now having to use 3 sockets on ground floor instead of normally 2; I like the little touch of the clip near the plug to keep the lead tidy. The carry handle is the top of the canister opening, so make sure that it is clipped in. My wife found that reclining the handle was a lttle stiff, but not for me. The suction + brushes on is too powerful for small (door) mats and raised them from the floor. When there is a very smooth carpet again suction is too powerful, so I found you needed to switch the brushes off. There is no adjustment for different carpet pile thicknesses, but apart from above found this no problem.
Conclusion : The 'cons' were just niggles and I would thoroughly recommend this for anyone wanting a lighter weight cleaner, or, even an excellent 'normal' cleaner
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Vax U91-MA-B Air Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by Tricky Dicky
Super Product
Date:06 March 2013
We wanted a modern easy to use machine , that was lightweigh and reasonable price
Very happy with product
GOOD BUY
Review 19 for Vax U91-MA-B Air Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Written by radar30
Nice hoover
Date:01 March 2013
Well after reading a number of reviews I decided to take a chnace and I have to say it was a good chance.
The hoover is nice and light, not heavy like our dyson and not as noisy.
Tested it on the carpets and brought up alot compared to the dyson and then decided to try it out on cleaning the car. The mats have never looked better and at least I can carry this into the car without any trouble.
For the price its worth it as I was looking at a cheaper one but then found this in store and was £10 cheaper.
Overall a nice little hoover.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Vax U91-MA-B Air Bagless Upright Vacuum Cleaner
Customer rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Written by Bridie
vax air hoover
Date:28 January 2013
my vax mach air hoover is simply wonderful, it light which means I have no trouble taking it up stairs, the suction is excellent, having struggled with a inferior hoover over the past two years, I only wish I had known about this one earlie because it's great for storage because it's small.
I cannot recoomend this hoover highly enough.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>